Rock Band gets a set list and extra songs

Before the game is even released, MTV and Harmonix are already revealing the songs that will be included in their upcoming game, Rock Band.

Leaving the Guitar Hero franchise and leaving that to Neversoft, Harmonix has gone on to use their rhythm game knowledge to create Rock Band,which introduces drums and singing to the mix so you can make up your own band.

Below is a list of songs that have been revealed. The (c) means they are covers of the original song, but unlike in Guitar Hero, most of the songs listed are original masters.

  • Rolling Stones “Gimme Shelter”
  • Aerosmith “Train Kept a Rollin'”(c)
  • The Who “Won’t Get Fooled Again”
  • Boston “Foreplay/Long Time”
  • Mountain “Mississippi Queen”(c)
  • The Police “Next to You”
  • David Bowie “Suffragette City”
  • Black Sabbath “Paranoid”(c)
  • Blue Oyster Cult “Don’t Fear the Reaper”
  • The Ramones “Blitzkrieg Bop”
  • Deep Purple “Highway Star”
  • KISS “Detroit Rock City”
  • Molly Hatchet “Flirtin’ With Disaster”
  • The Outlaws “Green Grass & High Tides”(c)
  • Sweet “Ballroom Blitz”(c)
  • Rush “Tom Sawyer”(c)
  • Bon Jovi “Wanted Dead or Alive”
  • The Clash “Should I Stay or Should I Go”
  • Faith No More “Epic”
  • R.E.M. “Orange Crush”
  • Iron Maiden “Run to the Hills”(c)
  • Foo Fighters “Learn to Fly”
  • Metallica “Enter Sandman”
  • Nirvana “In Bloom”
  • Stone Temple Pilots “Vasoline”
  • Weezer “Say It Ain’t So”
  • Smashing Pumpkins “Cherub Rock”
  • Radiohead “Creep”
  • Beastie Boys “Sabotage”
  • Hole “Celebrity Skin”
  • Garbage “I Think I’m Paranoid”
  • Soundgarden “Black Hole Sun”
  • The Hives “Main Offender”
  • Queens of the Stone Age “Go With the Flow”
  • The Strokes “Reptilia”
  • Jet “Are You Gonna Be My Girl”
  • OK Go “Here It Goes Again”
  • Nine Inch Nails “The Hand That Feeds”
  • Pixies “Wave of Mutilation”
  • Yeah Yeah Yeahs “Maps”
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers “Dani California”
  • Coheed & Cambria “Welcome Home”
  • Fallout Boy “Dead on Arrival”
  • The Killers “When You Were Young”
  • New Pornographers “Electric Version”

These aren’t the only songs either. MTV have also released a list of Downloadable content for Rock band. below is a list of the, so far announced, packs and individual songs.

Artist Packs:

  • The Police: Roxanne, Synchronicty II, Can’t Stand Losing You
  • Queens of the Stone Age: 3s and 7s, Sick Sick Sick, Little Sister
  • Metallica: Three-to-six song pack, no songs announced
  • Black Sabbath: N.I.B, Sweet Leaf, War Pigs (c)
  • David Bowie: Moonage Daydream, Heroes, Queen Bitc
  • Punk Pack: The Buzzcocks’ “Ever Fallen in Love,” (c) The Clash’ “I Fought the Law,” The Ramones’ “Rockaway Beach”

Single Songs:

  • Credence Clearwater Revival: “Fortunate Son”
  • Foreigner: “Juke Box Hero”
  • The Knack: “My Sharona”
  • The Runaways: “Cherry Bomb”
  • T-Rex: “Bang a Gong”
  • Wolfmother: “Joker and the Thief”
  • Pretenders: “Brass in a Pocket”
  • Radiohead: “My Irong Lung”
  • Weezer: “Buddy Holly”

Overall that’s a pretty good line up. Rock Band is set for UK release early 2008

Chris Taylor

Chris is a Northern lad with a passion for video games. With his opinions on video games and his need to force these onto other people, Chris began writing for Console Monster in 2006. Chris is a bona fide nerd who enjoys any decent game that can keep his interest. Being a keen music fan, in his spare time (what little he has) he likes to go to gigs and spends most time with some music on.

Share this article

Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on reddit
Share on linkedin

By clicking on the buttons above and buying an item from Amazon, you will help support us by giving us affiliate commission. It will not cost you extra, but it will go a long way in allowing us doing what we do best here. Thank you!

Learn how to support us

Recent Posts

Game Reviews
Hardware Reviews
What's Trending