The first expansion pack for Destiny has been detailed.

Titled “The Dark Below”, the downloadable content features a wide range of new content, including new story quests, missions and weapons.

The full list of content for The Dark Below is as follows:

  • New weapons, armour and gear to earn, including Legendary and Exotic items
  • Light Level cap raised to 32 and five additional Bounty slots added
  • New story quests and missions
    • After years hiding amongst the Hive shadows, a new character,Eris, has come forth bearing an ominous warning: The Hive seek to summon a god,Crota, to destroy the Earth. FindErisin the Tower to take on special quests that include three new missions where you will increase your Light and earn new rewards
  • New co-operative Strike,The Will of Crota,pits you and your Fireteam againstOmnigulas she works to expand the Hive army at the command of her master,Crota
  • Three new competitive multiplayer arenas
    • Pantheon – set deep within the Black Garden in an ancient Vex temple that features Vex-designed landscapes and tight corridors.
    • Skyshock – an old interplanetary defence array that offers both vehicle and infantry engagements.
    • The Cauldron – an abandoned Hive ritual site that offers close-quarter combat
  • New six-player Raid,Crota’s End, set deep within the depths of the Hellmouth

PlayStation 3 and PlayStation 4 players will also receive access to a co-operative Strike (The Undying Mind), an exotic weapon and more. This will remain a timed-exclusive until at least autumn 2015.

President of Bungie Harold Ryan said: “Destinywas created as a living universe, which has allowed us to improve the experience post launch in real-time. It also gives us insight into the things players are looking for in new content.

“We’ve seen from feedback that people want new activities, gear and weapons and of course the immensely popular Raid. The community helps shape our development decisions and that’s really important to us.”

The Dark Below will be priced at £19.99 standalone, or is also available in the Season Pass (£34.99). The expansion pack is set to launch on the PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One on Tuesday, December 9th, 2014.

David Wriglesworth

David Wriglesworth is a Northern lad with a passion for gaming, who graduated from the University of Lincoln with a BA (Hons) Journalism degree. If you can drag him away from the consoles, you can probably find him Tweeting or watching Coronation Street.

Share this article


By clicking on the buttons above and buying an item from Amazon, you will help support us by giving us affiliate commission. It will not cost you extra, but it will go a long way in allowing us doing what we do best here. Thank you!

Learn how to support us

Recent Posts

Game Reviews
Hardware Reviews
All articles loaded
No more articles to load
What's Trending