Reviews - Console Monster - Dedicated to Xbox & PlayStation Gaming
Excellent!
Salt and Sanctuary (PS4)
Art inspires art, this has been a staple of creative work since the dawn of intelligent existence.
30 Mar 2016
390
Good
Unravel (Xbox One)
Every good game needs an adorable hero, and in this EA backed indie puzzler, our hero comes in the form of Yarny; a crimson red person-like “ball” of yarn that unravels as you majestically walk, jump and swing your way through the game.
19 Feb 2016
260
Excellent!
Guns, Gore & Cannoli (Console)
We know what guns are, we certainly know what gore is and I'll admit, I had to do a Google search on what Cannoli was, but all in all just from reading the title alone, one can assume that this game includes violence.
8 Jan 2016
768
Great!
World of Tanks Commander's Guide (Console)
World of Tanks has left its tracks on many other platforms since its arrival on PC in Europe and North America in 2011.
11 Jan 2016
2,448
Good
Just Cause 3 (PS4)
Every now and then a game promises to be an action-packed thrill ride filled with so many explosions and bullets that your head may implode at any moment.
21 Dec 2015
964
Great!
Assassin's Creed: Syndicate (PS4)
The 2014 launch of Assassin’s Creed: Unity was met with backlash from gamers and critics alike, who were quick to criticise the title’s numerous bugs, frame rate issues and game-crashing glitches.
27 Nov 2015
815
Good
State Of Decay: Year One Survival Edition (Xbox One)
For those with a taste for uncooked, rotting flesh, State of Decay: Year One Survival Edition dishes up quite the mouthful.
16 Nov 2015
682
Excellent!
Until Dawn (PS4)
Upon a huge debate as to whether video games are viewed as forms of art, I’d like to think a bigger debate could be at hand as to whether video games are the new platform best suited for the horror genre.
29 Oct 2015
500
Great!
Extreme Exorcism (PS4)
It may be hard to imagine now but, before the days of the internet, the only way to play multiplayer video games was to invite your friends round to your house for shared screen action.
20 Oct 2015
624
Excellent!
The Taken King (Xbox One)
It’s safe to say that Destiny didn’t quite reach the dizzy heights initially expected by so many upon release.
7 Oct 2015
595
Great!
FIFA 16 (Xbox One)
Like Valentine’s Day, Halloween and Christmas, the FIFA video games series has become somewhat of a permanent fixture on the calendar.
4 Oct 2015
659
Great!
Forza Motorsport 6 (Xbox One)
Updated 17/11/2015: As Turn10 sneakily introduced micro-transactions into the game after release and review, this review has been updated to reflect that stance.
24 Sep 2015
675
Good
Zombie Vikings (PS4)
Place your bets, gamers: how long do you think the Zombie pop-culture phenomena will survive for?
17 Sep 2015
597
Excellent!
Gears of War: Ultimate Edition (Xbox One)
Following the success of Halo: The Master Chief Collection in November 2014, the rumour mill was rife with reports of a similar bundle for the Gears of War series.
15 Sep 2015
638
Great!
Turtle Beach Elite 800X (Xbox One)
Premium is a word batted around so frequently it’s started to lose its meaning.
29 Sep 2015
1,298
Great!
Back To Bed (PS4)
Enter the fantastically absurd and ethereal world that is inside Bob’s head.
25 Aug 2015
597
Great!
Submerged (PS4)
Most modern video games seem to have forgotten subtlety and shove the story directly into your face.
8 Aug 2015
1,131
Great!
The Fall (Xbox One)
In recent years, crowdfunding has proved a popular platform for developers to raise vital funds for their projects, no matter how ambitious they might be.
30 Jul 2015
2,823
Excellent!
N++ (PS4)
I'm always down for a difficult game.
28 Jul 2015
814
Average
Velocibox (PS4)
There seems to be a pattern emerging lately that focuses on the releases of certain indie titles that I like to call the, ‘endlessly go forward and don’t hit anything’ type of game.
28 Jul 2015
594
Good
Magicka 2 (PS4)
I've always been a huge fan of co-op gaming.
1 Aug 2015
6,514
Good
The Bozak Horde (PS4)
Dying Light is the latest zombie bashing game to have hit consoles.
14 Sep 2015
485
Good
LEGO Jurassic World (Xbox One)
From Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings to Star Wars and Pirates of the Caribbean, numerous blockbuster films have received LEGO makeovers over the years.
23 Jul 2015
882
Good
Toren (PS4)
Personally I'm a big supporter of new titles in the gaming industry.
19 Jul 2015
664
Excellent!
SteelSeries Siberia V3 Headset (Console)
Out of all the headphones I’ve reviewed here on Console Monster, the SteelSeries Siberia v2 has been one of my favourites.
22 Jul 2015
858
Great!
Batman: Arkham Knight (PS4)
I love Batman.
18 Jul 2015
876
Average
Schrödinger's Cat (Xbox One)
A video game reviewer has been locked tight into his bedroom with several cans of energy drinks and been told to review a game named: ‘Schrödinger’s cat and the raiders of the lost snark’, with no time limit.
4 Jul 2015
739
Great!
Tower of Guns (Xbox One)
By and large, Tower of Guns is a mash-up of three genres: bullet hell games, old-school first-person shooters and roguelikes.
4 Jul 2015
709
Great!
The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt (PS4)
There's a lot of competition in the open-world fantasy genre.
2 Jun 2015
1,154
Excellent!
Roundabout (PS4)
Every once in a while an idea for a game comes along that is so ridiculous and out-there that you can't believe it was made.
4 Jun 2015
1,253
Good
Goat Simulator (Xbox One)
Having started out as a joke prototype from an internal one-month game jam, Goat Simulator has been a major talking point amongst the PC community.
26 May 2015
1,478
Good
The Golf Club (PS4)
I haven't played a golf game in years.
18 May 2015
1,068
Avoid!
Infinity Runner (Xbox One)
Long-tipped champion of the games industry, set to wrench back the beauty and wonder of the medium from between the triple-A shaped jaws of focus group-conceived dross and drudgery, the indie scene has come to represent a significant force within the realm of gaming, with groundbreaking monsters such as Braid, … and of course Minecraft all being nurtured to maturity at its bosom.
17 May 2015
669
Excellent!
Broken Age (PS4)
This week for my entertainment: having conversations with a cantankerous knife, picking my brain for the best joke possible to entice a tree into trusting me and making sure my outfit gets chosen for the Maiden’s feast.
27 Apr 2015
555
Excellent!
Bloodborne (PS4)
Bloodborne is the latest release from critically acclaimed developers From Software, most known for their Demon / Dark Souls series.
3 May 2015
807
Great!
Borderlands: The Handsome Collection (Xbox One)
A kaleidoscopic display of unbridled, unhinged mayhem, Borderlands served up a storm on its first release, conjuring up as it did the words of the late, great Hunter S.
25 Apr 2015
853
Good
Rack n' Ruin (PS4)
Destroying planets is easy, it's conquering them that's the tricky part, and you're about to learn this the hard way.
14 Apr 2015
558
Excellent!
Bastion (PS4)
Before I start this review I have a confession to make; despite the game having originally released ages ago, and despite the fact I actually own the title on Steam, I have never actually played Bastion until now and with complete honesty, I really wish I had played it sooner.
7 Apr 2015
717
Average
LA Cops (Xbox One)
Team 17, the developers behind the amazing Worms series, are taking us back to the ‘70s with LA Cops on the Xbox One.
19 Apr 2015
715
Great!
Unmechanical: Extended (PS4)
Unmechanical released some time ago for iOS and PC.
24 Mar 2015
733