RockBand UK dated

RockBand UK dated

Published On April 8, 2008 | By Console Monster | News

IGN have revealed that RockBand will be available to buy on May 23rd. But unless your a Xbox 360 owner, then you might bedisappointed.

“Electronic Arts has at long last settled on an official European release date for Rock Band. However, don’t get too excited unless you’re an Xbox 360 owner – the May 23 launch on Microsoft’s console will doubtless please 360 owners, but those hoping to jam on PlayStation 3, PS2 and Wii will have to wait until later in the summer. Initially it will only be available in the UK, France and Germany too, with other European territories to follow.”

For some reason the Instrument Edition doesn’t actually come with the game itself.

“Perhaps more disappointing is the price: unlike the US, which received a Special Edition that includes the game, a Fender Strat guitar, the drum kit and a mic, all for $169 – Europe will only get an Instrument Edition priced £129.99 / 169 Euros, including the three peripherals but not the game – which, bought separately, will set you back £49.99 / 69.99 Euros. So, if you want the proper Rock Band experience, the minimum you’re going to have to shell out is around £180 / 240 Euros.”

“Quite why EA has decided to release the Instrument Pack without the game is anyone’s guess, although it’s likely retailers will bundle the two together, if not at launch then hopefully shortly after. In addition, wireless guitars will be available separately for the princely sum of £59.99 / 79.99 Euros, with standalone drum kits setting you back £69.99 / 89.99 Euros.”

Atleast there’s somethings we’ll get at the same time as the US.

“There is some good news though. In addition to the 58 songs featured in the US game, Europe will get eight news tracks from English, French and German bands, all bundled on the disc:

– Beetlebum (Blur)
– Rock ‘n’ Roll Star (Oasis)
– Hysteria (Muse)
– Manu Chao (Les Wamaps)
– New Wave (Playmo)
– Hier Kommt Alex (Die Toten Hosen)
– Perfekte Welle (Juli)
– Countdown to Insanity (H-Block X)

What’s more, the 70-plus downloadable tracks already available in US will be waiting for European rockers come May 27, priced 160 MS points each. Plus, US players can get their mitts on the eight European tracks around the same time. Quick recap then: if you want to the ultimate Rock Band experience, with two guitars and every song at your fingertips, be sure to put aside £330 / 430 Euros. On a positive note, going forward, Europe will have access to new downloadable songs at the same time as the US.”

Finally, a release date for RockBand in the Uk, however as usual us Europeans look set to pay alot more than the US. Let us know if you’ll be pre-ordering RockBand by leaving a comment below!

About The Author

Console Monster is an independent gaming website that is dedicated to the 'core gamer. Established in 2005 our team of UK and USA volunteer gamers bring our readers regular console gaming news, features, reviews, previews and gaming videos.